Review: The Unwilling

Published: February 2020

Written by: Kelly Braffet

The Unwilling is a book you need time to read; time to immerse yourself in the rich details of the world and the layers of the characters that Kelly Braffett paints. Once you have that time, reading this book is like sipping at a fine wine, that warms you the more you consume.

Originally, if I am honest, I expected to struggle with this book. I had read lots of mixed reviews and I wasn’t sure it was going to be ‘my cup of tea’. Not to mention that this book is a whopping 576 pages, which was a little intimidating. However, once I got going, I was drawn into this intricately built world and the mystery of a Judah, Gavin and Nate.

The Unwilling is told from multiple POV, but really this is a story about a girl called Judah, who is tied to Lord Elban’s son and heir, Gavin. The bond between these two is problematic for all concerned, and invasive for Gavin and Judah. Judah can never be free, and as ‘the foundling’ she can never have a life of her own, living life controlled by Lord Elban and his advisors.

Once I started this book, I became immersed. Even though the story is long, it was rich and vivid and kept me intrigued as we learnt more about the magic woven into this world, and into Judah.

The ending was both fabulous and tense.

Thank you to Maddie at Welbeck Publishing for my copy to review honestly.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.