Review: The Assassin’s Blade

Written by: Sarah J. Maas

Published: March 2014

Genre: Fantasy, Action, Adventure

Blurb: Celaena Sardothien is her kingdom’s most feared assassin. Though she works for the powerful and ruthless Assassin’s Guild, Celaena yields to no one and trusts only her fellow killer for hire, Sam.

When Celaena’s scheming master, Arobynn Hamel, dispatches her on missions that take her from remote islands to hostile deserts, she finds herself acting independently of his wishes-and questioning her own allegiance. Along the way, she makes friends and enemies alike, and discovers that she feels far more for Sam than just friendship. But by defying Arobynn’s orders, Celaena risks unimaginable punishment, and with Sam by her side, he is in danger, too. They will have to risk it all if they hope to escape Arobynn’s clutches-and if they fail, they’ll lose not just a chance at freedom, but their lives . . .

A prequel to Throne of Glass, this collection of five novellas offers readers a deeper look into the history of this cunning assassin and her enthralling-and deadly-world.

Included in this volume:
The Assassin and the Pirate Lord
The Assassin and the Healer
The Assassin and the Desert
The Assassin and the Underworld
The Assassin and the Empire.

My Review: This book cover is beautiful; the colours are pretty and pop on the hardcover of the book. If we were basing the review on looks then this would be at the top!

However – this took me quite a long time to complete and I contemplated not finishing it.

The book is comprised of the Throne of Glass novellas; I had previously read Throne of Glass (book 1) itself and it was Okay. I didn’t love it.

Having absolutely adored Sarah J. Maas’s ACOTAR series I decided I would give these a go. Unfortunately I feel that they are a little dull and, whilst I admire Celaena’s grit – I don’t feel a connection with her across these novellas or Throne of Glass.

There are 5 short novellas in this collection and the first one – The Assassin and the Pirate Lord – is the one I enjoyed the most. The others were slow and predictable for me. I liked that we found out a little more about this character – but I still feel left with questions about her time before this.

Overall I would give this collection 3🌟 as the writing and settings were good. Just didn’t love it unfortunately, and may not read Crown of Midnight that’s sitting on my shelf.


PS. Come and tell me more about these books over on Instagram!


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.